“In that region there were shepherds living in the fields, keeping watch over their flock by night.” Luke 2:8 

My name is Seh, and I’m a sheep. I was there the night Jesus was born. This is my story:

It was cold that night, and we were hanging out in our sheep pen trying to keep each other warm. Earlier in the day we were grazing but as evening fell, the shepherds herded us into the safety of our pen. What happened next made that night unusual!

On normal nights the shepherds bunked down with us and everything would get quiet. There might be a “baah” here and there, but it was usually quiet. I’d fall asleep and the next thing you know the sun was up and it was time for breakfast. (But, I digress! Back to that special night…)

That night was different. After we were situated in the pen, a bright light filled the sky. The shepherds began running back and forth. Then the shepherds themselves were bathed in that light and they fell to the ground in terror. I’ve seen those shepherds face down a wolf that was trying to attack one of us, so whatever was going on must have been frightening!

cute-sheepThen angels filled the sky and the Angel of the Lord told the shepherds not to be afraid. He said that a Savior had been born and that he was Christ the Lord. He was a baby lying in a manger. (You know what a manger is…animals eat from it!)…so this was a very humble Savior!

When the angels left, the shepherds hurried to Bethlehem to see for themselves this amazing thing! Some of the sheep ran out of the pen with the shepherds, including me! We found Mary and Joseph and sweet little baby Jesus just like the angels said. I got close enough to Jesus that I kissed him on his little hand and he smiled while he was sleeping. This is a true story and it was the best night of my life!

Gloria Koster came to work at FBC Greensboro in December, 2006. She is the Administrative Assistant: Learning and also the managing editor of the monthly Connections publication. She studied art at VCU and has been doing graphic design her whole adult life.

